Wayne LaPierre retains management of NRA; loyalist Charles Cotton elected president


The National Rifle Association on Saturday stated its board of administrators reelected controversial CEO Wayne LaPierre.

The gun-rights group tweeted that Charles Cotton was elected president, Ret. Lt. Col. Willes Okay. Lee was elected first vice chairman, and David Coy second vice chairman.

The votes came about at a board assembly in Charlotte, N.C., that adopted the annual members assembly.

“The proceedings in Charlotte were an amazing celebration of NRA fellowship and freedom,” Cotton stated in a press release that accompanied the tweet. “Under the direction of Wayne LaPierre, the NRA is strong and secure – well positioned to chart its course for the future.”

Cotton is finest identified for blaming the 2015 bloodbath at a Charleston, S.C., church on the anti-gun pastor killed within the assault.

LaPierre gained the board’s vote regardless of a number of scandals on the non-profit, together with a swimsuit introduced final yr by New York Attorney General Letitia James that alleges that LaPierre and different high executives diverted tens of millions of the group’s funds and accepted inappropriate presents to subsidize their lavish existence.

Cotton, a LaPierre loyalist, was chairman of the NRA Audit Committee when James made her allegations.

The group didn’t share Saturday’s vote tally.

Last week, outgoing board member Roscoe Marshall requested to intervene in James’ swimsuit, which seeks to interrupt up the group, asking the court docket to nominate a brief obtain and set up utterly new management.